Task Complete [Now is the only time I know]

Seasons always shift too late, it seems. Remember when we were young, when there was no need to know what you’re doing or waiting for; when I’d share a life and you’d share a life? When all I thought I needed to worry about in this was why does she give a damn about me? But I was determined to prove myself; [I won’t let you down; no, I won’t, no, I won’t]. And now I’ll believe in anything.
Okay, speed it up; go! But then time is contagious; everyone is getting old. Now you’re stretching out your arms to somethin’ that’s just not there, sayin’ you love but you don’t; How they fake it, I don’t know. I’m forced to wonder; Am I just someone from the past? Go on, just say it. Everything’s fine? I’ve seen those eyes; I’ve watched them close at night. So give me a reason to end this discussion, because I can’t believe the things you said concerning me and my life. And now its clear, she doesn’t give a damn about me.
You know, it’s a silly time to learn to swim when you start to drown. I’d brace myself for the impact if I were you.
[I gotta get away from this.]
Why can’t you just be happy? And you breathe in, and you breathe out again. It’s a long wait for an answer, and by then, it’s you I can do without. In case you haven’t heard, I’m sick and tired of trying. There’s nothing left for me here.
And I, well, I’m not surprised.
[Something’s keeping me from leaving. I just need more time.]
I don’t think that this will work out on its own. You should know what’s really going down below. I know I should have said something, but I’ve said it enough. So just give me a second darling to clear my head.
[Will you pray it be the end?]
You should know that the world was built on bones. But love always remains.
[I lie for only you.]
Waking up all alone, waking up so relieved. How amazing it feels just to live again.
and now i know just where i stand; thank god it’s over.

Cartoon Life: Keepsake


—–


I should probably explain. The task here was to take a mixed CD (my copy of Now is the Only Time I know for this one; discography included above) and have someone outside of yourself listen to it. From there, they pick two lines from every song that stands out to them (which you check against what the actual lyrics are for that line, to be completely accurate) [These choices are highlighted here]. Then, you are to take those lines and use them in a short story that has LESS ‘original’ text than song lyrics (preferably less than half the amount the song lyrics takes up) [lyrics are bolded, non lyrics are not] 

So, I took songs that I originally was hesitant about using because they’re different stylistically as well as thematically and used a mash-up of the narratives to examine the fluidity of language as well as the relativity of words’ meanings as vulnerable objects, easily impacted by surrounding characters, premises and context. The final product really provides for a dichotomy; a seemingly personal memoir-esque text comprised of a majority of appropriated text (lyrics) that becomes almost genericized through a number of different experiences collectively related to the original, acting as a surrogate for the dichotomy our lives become when realized as both a personal and generic experience of the human condition.

Gotta go find another person to listen to a CD to continue.

Best,
MP

Leave a Reply

