I let it all go, in my heart, in my body, in all.

So, I always mean to shoot one of my drawings in progression. Like, full on progression. From start to finish, at maybe ten minute intervals (me drawing something like this is like an hour of work, to put it in perspective). But I failed again.

My friends from high school all used to joke that my progression would be like those drawings of horses/dogs/etcetera that start off with three circles and some triangles, adding like 6 concave or convex lines, until step six when it magically turns into a shaded picture of a horse.

But it’s really not like that, guys.

Something I DO recommend though (Tom, specifically) is doing an outline layout and figuring out where everything goes BEFORE starting actual shading. Some things are going to look like they’re in the wrong place/are going to look out of proportion without shading. My friend, NP, taught herself how to use “sight” measuring to get a gauge for relative size of features by starting off trying to lay out the face on a 1:1 scale on her own, then taking the photo and using tracing paper to trace the outline of the features as is. Then laying the tracing paper on top of her layout, and seeing how she did. She said this helped her to learn how to guesstimate proportions better, and that made sense to me.

I don’t really know how I figured the whole “sight measuring” thing out (or if I ever did, really). Either way, do yourself a favor and don’t take yourself so seriously as to just skip trying to lay it out and TRACE your image first. It seems easier, and it IS more accurate, but you really won’t learn anything about drawing, or be able to ever draw from life (Note: It’s very inconvenient to try to put paper over a model’s face and try to trace her. Just trust me.)

I lay the drawing out, and get a general scale (of AT LEAST 5 gradient values) of where the most shadows are. Then I fill in a general tone (the gradient shade AFTER the white of the paper) so that I can use the tone of the paper for the lightest parts (duh). And I end up “over shading” (if you don’t dig into the paper/go bat shit crazy with an 8B pencil you can use a kneaded eraser and lightly skim away some shading towards the end when you’re really getting curves, highlights, etc in) and then adding in highlights to sort of carve the whole thing out. This is where the differences came in between the first and second picture.

Also, use a damn scrap paper to put under your hand. Otherwise you are seriously doomed and pencil gets everywhere.

That’s all the advice I have right now.

Title: Zola Jesus: Avalanche

2 responses to “I let it all go, in my heart, in my body, in all.

  1. WHAT THE FUCKseriously. seriously. u are sick.

  2. TOM. I am not. Oh my gosh. Okay, maybe a little. But you are sicker. I can't believe you posted a "u" on my blog. No, Tom. No.

Leave a Reply

