Because everyone always asks to "show my work"

Howl
Marker work-up
MP, 2013 
So a lot of people have been asking me to show my work, like it’s a geometry quiz or something (Maybe it sort of is if you think about it too much but I’d rather not). I mean, I guess the process is interesting, to see if from start to finish (the above isn’t finished; I have to color it) but for me actually participating in the process is a little stressful and annoying. I know in my head how I want things to look, and I’m a tad bit… impatient… for having to wait. Granted, it doesn’t take me long to draw most of the things I draw, but I can be a bit on the wanting instant gratification side of things when it comes to drawing. (which, considering I’m a conceptual artist, is a little ironic)
Anyways, details of the piece, right?
The concept: Two Wolves; Native American myth

Color palette: Color; blue and orange based; illustrative- realistic style.
Include: 2 Wolves, the moon, birds and skulls

Placement: Upper sleeve, from ball of shoulder socket to elbow

Notes I took were as follows:

  • First wolf howling, second wolf “regular”/stoic
  • Full Moon, harvest for color scheme
  • Two skulls under howling wolf; birds flying across moon—skulls used a symbol of death and fear, birds used as a symbol of freedom and grace.
  • Myth—Cherokee (?): To explain, I don’t know if this is an authentic Cherokee myth or not, to be honest, but I found a link to the general story online: “An old Cherokee is teaching his grandson about life. “A fight is going on inside me,” he said to the boy. “It is a terrible fight and it is between two wolves. One is evil – he is anger, envy, sorrow, regret, greed, arrogance, self-pity, guilt, resentment, inferiority, lies, false pride, superiority, and ego.” He continued, “The other is good – he is joy, peace, love, hope, serenity, humility, kindness, benevolence, empathy, generosity, truth, compassion, and faith. The same fight is going on inside you – and inside every other person, too.” The grandson thought about it for a minute and then asked his grandfather, “Which wolf will win?” The old Cherokee simply replied, “The one you feed.”” (source) Anyways, the whole thing was basically dichotomous and similar to the story of Cain and Abel, in which two brothers become the first person to be born (Cain) and the first person to die (Abel), where Cain is used as the personification of jealousy and rage and its terrible effects (killing your own brother, lying about it and getting exiled).The whole reading of it, to the client, was about how they were the same animal and raised in the same circumstances but chose different paths/reactions, which boils down to realizing you can change your perspective (and thereby your reaction) to any circumstances, finding true freedom in that. I thought that was pretty cool.

I wanted the moon (with slight sky coloring/shading behind to create depth) to rest on the same line as the ball of the shoulder, so the placement was appropriate for the body. The birds come slightly off the moon to create even more depth and make the design sink into the body. Because the arm is a bit thinner and longer, the wolves would have to be slightly staggered. The skulls would come from below the howling wolf to fill in the space created by staggering the two wolves and pull the design into the outer elbow line.

Colors chosen (Blue and Orange)
-Blue and Orange are complimentary on the color wheel, and would create a balance. They are also colors typically associated with the harvest moon and would allow the moon to pop against the skin

Best,
MP

Leave a Reply

