Lace, lace, lace.


Lace, take 1
 
Lace, take 2 (Hour mark)

 Lace, take two (Hour and a half, two hour and two and a half hour marks)
Okay so here’s the thing.
I started drawing a lace design for a friend. The first one I made a mistake on after dropping 2 hours into it, so naturally I crumpled it up and threw it in the dumpster outside of work. (I should note, this mistake was totally fixable but I have issues and it was probably better to just start over or at least that’s what I’m telling myself so I seem less crazy)
Anyways, reflecting back on it (because during I definitely wanted to crawl in a corner and die, and suffered what is comparable to carpal tunnel in my thumb), I actually enjoyed drawing something so painstakingly delicate and heirloom-y. 
Fun facts! (because it’s me, come on): There are two (broad) kinds of processes for making lace. The first is where you start from nothing and build up hundreds of stitches to actually form the lace itself (Bobbin, needle lace, knotted, knitted are all types that are made this way), and the second is where you remove pieces of fabric and embroider around the holes (cutwork, white work, etc). 

Lace was originally used in both men and women’s clothing, and was actually most common in the military’s clothing. However, the process of actual lace making was typically reserved for women. In the 18th century, the Catholic church (via nuns) actually taught younger and unmarried women how to stitch lace to give them an opportunity to make money that would keep them safe since prostitution then (like today) was associated with higher mortality rates. 

Leave a Reply

